READS Award of Excellence

To recognize outstanding contributions by an individual who has been instrumental in improving library services to adults.

Examples of Service (nomination may include other forms of service)

  • Providing or improving technical services, outreach services, support services, facilities, or library education to an underserved area or population
  • Providing access to information not previously available
  • Providing service beyond own institution (i.e. impact or benefit to other libraries, benefit to local community, model for other libraries of similar size)
  • Overcoming limitations of resources (staff, time, funds)
  • Promoting library services through exemplary performance that is recognized by the public served
  • Delivering improved library and information services through creative application of technology
  • Improving public understanding of library and information services
  • Creating original work (regardless of the medium used) which contributes to the improvement of library and information services

Criteria for Recipient

  • Currently employed in a New Hampshire library
  • Nominee may be a librarian or library support staff member
  • Nominee may work in an academic, public, hospital, correctional, corporate or other special library or information center setting
  •  Nomination shall describe nominee’s professional performance as a NH library employee
  • Individuals may only receive the award once
  • Current READS Board members are not eligible

Number and Frequency of Award
Only one award shall be presented annually. No award shall be given if applicants do not meet the award criteria.

Presentation of the Award
The READS Award Selection Committee shall review the candidates and select a winner prior to the READS annual fall program. Announcement shall be made at that program. The recipient shall receive a free NHLA/READS membership for the following year. If the recipient is already a member, READS will pay for a membership renewal.

Award Winners

READS Award of Excellence Winners

2022: Courtney Vashaw, Director, Whitefield Public Library.

2021: Maria Schroeter, Adult Collection Development and Adult Programming Librarian at the Nesmith Library.

2019: Pamela Dziama, Customer Service Library Assistant at the Wiggin Memorial Library.

2018: Ruslyn Vear, Reference Librarian at the Amherst Town Library. 

2017: Roger Robbins, Stephenson Memorial Library.

2016: Karen Frey, Circulation Coordinator and Outreach Coordinator at the Nesmith Library.

2015: Sandy Whipple, Adult Services and Outreach Coordinator at the Goffstown Public Library. 

2014: Mark Glisson, Information and Technical Services Specialist at Hooksett Library.

2013: Janet Arden, Hampstead Public Library 

2012: Sophie Smith, Nashua Public Library

2011: Thelma Tracy, Assistant Librarian at the Weare Public Library

2010: Lois Freeston, Assistant Director at the Nesmith Library.

2009: Pamela Smith, Systems and Technical Services Librarian, Howe Library.

2008: Michelle DuBreuil, Library Assistant at the Gordon-Nash Library.

2007: Ellen Knowlton, Merrimack Public Library

2006: Celina Houlne, Circulation Supervisor at the Rochester Public Library.

2005: Eleanor Croteau, Manchester City Library