Awards for Youth

Great Stone Face Book Award  |  Flume Award  |  Isinglass Award  |  Ladybug Award


Great Stone Face Book Award

Great Stone Face Book Award (GSF)

March 22 note from the GSF Committee: It's almost here! Voting for the 2023 Great Stone Face Award winner begins April 1 and runs through April 30. The links to the online ballots (one for children to vote individually, and one for submitting group votes) and further information will be available here at the end of March.

The Great Stone Face Book Award is given annually to an author whose book receives the most votes from 4th through 6th graders throughout the state.  In April, New Hampshire children vote for their favorite book from a list of 20 recently-published titles that are chosen by the Great Stone Face (GSF) Committee.  The purpose of the award is to promote reading enjoyment, to increase awareness of contemporary writing, and to allow children to honor their favorite authors.



Isinglass Award


The Isinglass Teen Read Award was begun in 2001 by the Barrington Public Library and the Barrington Middle School in order to promote teen reading, the participation of teens in the creation of their own reading list, and to honor those authors whose works speak to youth. The award is now open to all New Hampshire students in grades 7-8. Voting is done annually in April.

For more information:


Justine Fafara

Flume Award


The Flume: NH Teen Reader’s Choice Award was created in 2005 in response to a New Hampshire teen’s request to have a book award geared towards high school students. This award is a state-wide venture led by a collaborative effort from school and public librarians. Each year teens nominate titles, published within the last two years, they think deserve to be recognized. Librarians narrow the group of titles to a shorter list. Teens then vote for the winning title from that list.


Justine Fafara