rss feed

Posts tagged: Awards

Librarian of the Year Award

The CHILIS Board is now accepting nominations for the 2011 Librarian of the Year Award.  Please consider nominating someone you know who has provided outstanding library service to youth in New Hampshire.  Each year, CHILIS recognizes an exceptional youth librarian who helps to contribute to enriching library service for children and/or teens.  The Librarian of the Year is announced at the CHILIS Spring Conference, which will be held on March 17, 2011 at Southern NH University in Manchester.

If you would like to nominate an individual for this award, please visit the award page for full criteria and the nomination form.  Nominations should be postmarked no later than January 28th.  Questions about the award may be directed to any member of the CHILIS board.

READS Award of Excellence

Lois Freeston (left), librarian at the Nesmith Library in Windham, is the 2010 recipient of the READS Award of Excellence. Presenting the award to Lois is Amy Lapointe, READS Past President and Director of the Amherst Town Library. The  is awarded each year at the READS fall conference to recognize outstanding contributions by an individual who has been instrumental in improving library service to adults.

We Have Winners!

The 2010 winners of the Great Stone Face and Isinglass book awards were announced at the New Hampshire Library Association’s annual spring conference on May 13th and 14th.  These awards are sponsored by CHILIS, and are chosen by youth from across the state.  The Great Stone Face Book Award winner, chosen by kids in grades 4 to 6, is Swindle by Gordon Korman.  The winner of the Isinglass Teen Read Award, chosen by teens in grades 7 and 8, is The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

The Great Stone Face and Isinglass websites have further information, including:

  • lists of the 2010-2011 nominees
  • lists of past winners
  • award criteria
  • committee information
  • order forms for things such as bookmarks and posters

Those are just a few of the resources available, so do take advantage of those sites.  If you have additional questions or feedback, the chairs’ contact information is available here.

Spring Conference a Great Success!

The CHILIS Spring Conference, featuring the Kids, Books & the Arts Showcase, was held on Thursday, March 25, 2010 at Southern NH University in Manchester.  The food was tasty, the venue great, and once again, we enjoyed the entertainment provided by our KBA roster artists.

Carol Sanborn, Librarians of the Year

Congratulations to Carol Sanborn, Children’s Librarian at Hampton Falls Free Library, who was honored with the CHILIS Librarian of the Year Award.  Carol was selected by the CHILIS board after considering many worthy nominees, and the award was presented at the conference.  Here’s what Carol’s director, Judy Haskell, has to say about her colleague:

“Carol is the embodiment of all the qualities desirable in a perfect youth librarian:  she possesses a sunny disposition; an understanding of children’s developmental needs; a love of children’s literature; an appreciation for parental concerns; exceptional organizational skills and attention to detail; a sense of humor; a caring manner; a strong desire to learn; and a willingness to be of assistance to both patrons and staff.  Carol has created a Youth Services department that is the envy of many libraries.  Her insight, dedication, energy, and ability to relate to all age groups have made her an invaluable part of our library and what we offer to the community.”

You make us all proud, Carol!  As a colleague you are friendly, caring, and generous—not to mention funny!  Thank you for sharing your many talents with us.

Ladybug Award 2010 Nominees

The Ladybug Picture Book Award is given out each year by the Center for the Book at the NH State Library, and is designed to promote early literacy and honor the best in recent children’s picture books.  The nominees for the 2010 Ladybug Picture Book Award are:

Ladybug Award logo

Voting takes place in November. For more information, visit the Ladybug Award page at the Center for the Book website.

Andrea Thorpe Receives Geisel Award

Andrea Thorpe Wins Geisel Award
At the 2009 NHLA Business Meeting on Thursday, Nov. 5th, the Ann Geisel Award of Merit was given to Andrea Thorpe, director of the Richards Free Library in Newport, NH. Please join me in congratulating Andrea on this special achievement.

To see more photos from the event, visit NHLA’s Flickr account.

Nominate someone for the Ann Geisel Award

It’s nominating time!

Please give consideration to the following.  Nominations are due September 1, 2009 and can be sent to:

NHLA Awards Committee

Attn: Amy Thurber
c/o Local Government Center
P.O. Box 617
Concord, NH 03302

The Ann Geisel Award of Merit is given to an individual, group or organization that has made significant contributions to the New Hampshire library community.

The Ann Geisel Award of Merit recognizes librarians, libraries and other individuals or organizations that have contributed to the New Hampshire Library Association (NHLA) or the New Hampshire library community. Past Ann Geisel Award of Merit recipients have improved all New Hampshire libraries through their efforts as library professionals by providing library services or advocating for library issues within and beyond the state level.

For more information on the award, the nomination process and past winners, check our website! 

NH Librarian Wins NY Times I Love My Librarian Award

Jeean AmaralI am pleased to report that Jean Amaral, a reference librarian at Antioch University New England in Keene, NH is one of 10 winners of the Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award!!! In her nomination letter, a colleague wrote "Jeanis a dynamo of energy, talent, humor, consideration, and has the most intense dedication to aiding students and faculty I have ever seen." Jean will receive $5,000 and be honored at an awards ceremony tonight hosted by the New York Times at TheTimeCenter. Way to go Jean! Your NH colleagues are very proud!

2008 Ann Geisel Award Announced at Business Meeting


Geisel Award Winner Wilcox

At the , Deborah Ross Wilcox was presented with the 2008 Ann Geisel Award for Distinguished Service to the New Hampshire Library Community. The Ann Geisel Award of Merit recognizes librarians, libraries and other individuals and organizations that have contributed to the Association or the New Hampshire library community. Through their efforts as library professionals, providing library services or advocating for library issues, they have improved all New Hampshire libraries.

Read more about Debbie and what her nominators had to say about her here.

Congratulations Debbie!

Andrea Thorpe Day

AndreaThe town of Newport declared July 10th as Andrea Thorpe Day in honor of the Andrea’s 20th year as library director. Here Barbara Yeomans (left) is congratulating Andrea on her special day. Way to go Andrea!